Skip to main content

What are the different types of nurse practitioners?

Here’s a selection of the most common types of nurse practitioners:

  • Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
  • Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (ACNP)
  • Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner (AGNP)
  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP)
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP)
  • Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner (WHNP)

Note: Herzing does not offer a track in each specialty – only Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP).

Each specialty has its own unique requirements in terms of job experience and certification. The advantage of becoming an FNP vs. other types of NP is you will be qualified to handle many different types of specialties within family practice.

The Herzing University post master’s FNP program provides Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN) with the education necessary to become a family nurse practitioner and carve a unique professional path.

Learn more about our post master's FNP program


Request Information

Ready to get started?

Contact us to request more information